The Eurovision song contest is taking place tonight. I ended up watching both of the semi-finals. As a person who tends to have a lot of songs playing in her head pretty easily, this was probably not such a good idea. As we all know, the Eurovisions can be quite catchy. But this is also a good test. I started to think that it must be the song that plays in my head the most that is finally gonna take it. But yeah, the decision which one I would vote (a.k.a. which I think would win, not that I necessarily like it) was not that simple.

After the first semi-final I went to work and one of my colleagues was hymming some song only for 10 sec. I immeadiately regocnized it was the song of Greece, altough I hadn't like it the night before. Then it was playing in my head for a long time after.

During the second semi-final I had the weirdest feeling, while almost all of the songs felt familiar. I admit I have been listening some of the songs in You Tube like two months ago, but this also shows how catchy the songs are... Hardly ever happens with "normal music".

In the second semi-final the competitors were definately lot stronger than in the first one (not that I want to under estimate the Finnish song, which is great of course... as always ;)). I think the songs are a good way to bring your culture to the world. This does not happen every year with everyone, but usually the Eastern countries have more disco, techno even or hard pop, when UK comes with a ballad almost always. Sweden is no exception - even without people telling you the countries, Sweden is always recognizable to me. 

This year I have to say that the most played Eurovisions in my head are Sweden - Popular, Denmark - New tomorrow, Ireland-Lipstick, Finland-Da da dam and Hungary-What about my dreams. Also from the already-left-out countries my inner-juke-box includes Latvia and Norway.    

What is the ablsolute weirdest thing, is that people actually start liking these songs the more they listen to it. This happens however those people would never ever dig this kind of music in a normal life. But Eurovision Song Contest makes you crazy sometimes. I even found myself considering to buy the CD the day before yesterday. Luckily I got fast in to my sences again (Sorry everyone who bought it! :) ) 

If you end up reading this far, please comment with your TOP 3. I think it is funny to admit, but this year the TOP 3 is a hard bet.

My estimates are the following (NOTE: not the ones I definately like best, but the ones I think will succeed):

1. Ireland - Lipstick

2. Hungary - What about my dreams?

3. Sweden - Popular

So now its time to check out if Finland is going to beat Sweden in Eurovision song contest, too this weekend :D

P.S. I left Estonia out of my script, which was revenged - now that song is the one playing in my head with a high volume...